So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.

.from coventrypublicschools.

I believe this may be the most beautfiul ending line ever, though the meaning that the narrator, Nick Carraway, implies is far from idyllic. Here he is, the friend of him dead, his half-romance torn asunder by he himself. I remember two years ago I saw the book in a library and, since I’d heard of it before even back then, I wanted to read it. I guess the thick first few lines dissuaded me. I recall I was looking for something more fast-paced (the first few chapters of The Great Gatsby were heavily world-building), so opted for James Patterson’s Fourth of July. If I’d known the discrepancy between those two back then…

But luckily it was a school assignment😛. I read The Great Gatsby a month or two ago in English class and my friend’s blogging about it recently evinced the memories I had when I was reading it.

There is another great line that I can’t find online…it’s Nick, describing some vestige of some thought he has that has the sense of great important around it. I think it goes something like this, with more language: But it disapppeared, and what was once communicable was lost forever.

I think F. Scott Fitzgerald is a writer of great pathos and tragedy and I think some lines in his book are the best in mankind.