Day Five:
8,888 words so far  
Finally, I reached and passed today’s goals. I’m so happy. Today was a glorious, vainglorious, beautiful, beautific day. Second period especially. Writing a grammatically-laid-out story and having it read to the class has never been so fun. Hyenas and soap! But no, it was not meant to be dirty.

Anyway, writing has become easier to me. I’m finally developing the tone. It is similar to Jeanne DuPrau’s, but still my own. I like it. It’s simple language, unlike the previous novel’s, but for this type of story it works. These characters have simple diction but they are deep. And I love them and watching them bloom. Or, in Malcolm’s case, wilt, and then bloom. He’s gotta hit a nadir first before climbing/clawing his way back up.

God’s in His Heaven, all’s right with the World.
~Robert Browning – it’s also the last two lines in L.M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables, I think. Oh, and speaking of Montgomery: I believe I used this quote of hers before, but it’s really one of my favorites:

Tomorrow is fresh, with no mistakes in it.

(and plus it was in the book Confessions of a Non-Blonde Cheerleader. But whatevs.)