I have

3,417 words so far  

and it’s choking up my schoolwork. I spent about two hours today – I felt like it was more time than yesterday. Yesterday, it was a free reign. Today, there were expectations: building upon the characters I’d created yesterday in a certain order, structure… So it took a little longer. I don’t think I’m quite, quite accustomed yet. Accustomed, yes. Quite, no…

So the tension is building between the protagonist, Caldry, and her nemesis, Belle. Belle put a tack in Caldry’s bag, etc. I’m putting more depth into Malcolm, the boy, with his family situation…

I really love my characters right now. They are doing everything I tell them to, even if my directions are muddled themselves. My characters are oh-so-obedient, but also show their true sides. It wouildn’t be that much fun if I did all the directing here.