“My philosophy on life? Be happy, and don’t be hungry…”

“…I find it counterintuitive that we spend most of our life preparing to be happy in the last few. As for guy tensions and little sister tensions, all I have to say is little things add up. Again with the closet metaphor: Start cleaning out your problems earlier. The best way to do this is to be not afraid of confrontations and speaking your mind. If you like something, enjoy it…

If you don’t like something, don’t stuff that into the closet. You don’t like it? Either try to enjoy it or be done with it. If a [person treats you badly, tell him off]. I know this is easier said than done, but sometimes I don’t even think it’s about being [rude] – it’s about being a normal, functional human being. Because we can be wayyyy to nice and worry wayyyyyyy too much sometimes. ”

 ~ quoted wisely by Helen, best friend and therapist-extraordinaire.

I can’t express how much I agree with this, although I have yet to act like this. We spend so much time studying to receive that elusive “A”; then, as parents congratulate us, we feel compelled, through operant conditioning, to keep studying, keep getting A’s. Then, indubitably, we’ll stress over illogically about colleges and what jobs we partake in.

I know school is important, and I’ll probably keep being obsessed over grades, but I feel after reading this quote, I can study and relax more. I’ve reached the point in life, I think, that I can safely calculate the time studying and the grade, without worrying about what repercussions that happen after that.

The closet, indeed, must be cleaned out. In fact, I think I’ll get used to cleaning out the closet before it starts bursting and/or imploding. It’ll be nice, to speak my mind more, without regretting having not said anything, or being self-conscious.

And the quote that sums this up?: Those who mind don’t matter, and those who matter don’t mind. Bam.

Current Mood: freed (from school, worries, etc.)
Current Song: Picture to Burn by T.S.
Word of the Day (heehee): polemical (adj.) – an argument over something controversial.